Call for Entries: UNESCO Asia-Pacific Awards for Cultural Heritage Conservation 2018

Deadline: 15 May 2018

Entries are open for 2018 UNESCO Asia-Pacific Awards for Cultural Heritage Conservation. This year’s awards cycle will mark the launch of a three-year partnership with Think City, a Malaysian urban renewal body that will support the programme and host the annual Awards Jury meeting in Penang, Malaysia.

Searching for Project Ideas?
Join Premium and View Hundreds of Sample Proposals from Successful NGOs around the world. Learn more.

The UNESCO Asia-Pacific Awards for Cultural Heritage Conservation (“the Awards”) recognize the achievement of the private sector and public-private initiatives in successfully conserving or restoring structures, places and properties of heritage value in the region.

Award Categories

Search Grants Easily
Premium Members can search for grants and donors. We have a filtered search feature to identify exact opportunities you need. Learn more.

There are two categories in the Awards programme:

  • The Awards for Cultural Heritage Conservation
    • Initiated in 2000, the Awards recognize excellent achievement in successfully conserving or restoring heritage building and properties in the Asia-Pacific by the private sector or by public-private initiatives. The four levels of achievement include:
    • Award of Excellence,
    • Award of Distinction,
    • Award of Merit,
    • Honourable Mention.
    • The Award of Excellence is the highest recognition presented to projects that display exceptional achievement in all criteria and has major catalytic impact at the national or regional level.
    • The format and number of the Awards may be varied from time to time at discretion of UNESCO and the Jury.
  • The Award for New Design in Heritage Contexts
    • Established in 2005, a special Award is given in addition to the conservation award categories. The Award for New Design in Heritage Contexts (previously known as the Jury Commendation for Innovation), recognizes newly built structures that demonstrate outstanding design well-integrated into historic contexts.
    • The Award encourages submissions of completed new architecture and design projects that enrich the heritage setting are encouraged as a part of the contribution to the future of sustainable heritage safeguarding.

Eligibility Criteria

Receive Funding Alerts by Country or Your Areas of Work
As a Premium Member, you can select to receive the right funding alerts according to your country or areas of work. Join Premium
  • The following are eligible for consideration: residential, commercial and institutional buildings; religious properties; urban and rural settlements, historic towns and villages; archaeological heritage; cultural landscapes, parks and gardens; military properties; modern heritage; agricultural, industrial and technological properties; burial monuments and sites; cultural routes; vernacular architecture; and symbolic properties and memorials.
  • The project must be the result of private sector initiative or public-private partnership. The involvement of private individuals or organizations in terms of ownership, tenancy, financing or other contributions to the project should be clear. Projects that are financed, owned and undertaken wholly by government entities are not eligible.
  • The work must have been completed within the preceding 10 years at the time of submission. For buildings with a new use, the project must also have been occupied or put to viable use for at least one year at the time of submission.
  • Entries that have been previously submitted will not be eligible for resubmission unless invited to do so by the Jury, or unless substantial additional restoration has been carried out since the previous submission.

How to Apply

Applicants can download the official forms and regulations for each category via given website.

Eligible Countries: Afghanistan, Australia, Bangladesh, Bhutan, Brunei Darussalam, Cambodia, China, Cook Islands, Democratic People’s Republic of Korea, Fiji, India, Indonesia, Islamic Republic of Iran, Japan, Kiribati, Kazakhstan, Lao People’s Democratic Republic, Macao, China, Malaysia, Maldives, Marshall Islands, Micronesia (Federated States of), Myanmar, Nauru, Nepal, New Zealand, Niue, Pakistan, Palau, Papua New Guinea, Philippines, Republic of Korea, Samoa, Singapore, Solomon Islands, Sri Lanka, Tajikistan, Thailand, Timor Leste, Tokelau, Tonga, Turkmenistan, Tuvalu, Uzbekistan, Vanuatu, Vietnam.

For more information, please visit UNESCO Asia-Pacific Awards.

Jetstar’s Flying Start Program’s Grant #22 for Australian Not-for-Profit Community Groups and Organisations

African Fact-checking Awards 2019 Honoring Journalism by Africa-Based Media

Weeden Foundation Grants Program to Protect Biodiversity

The Chrysalis Trust Grants Program is now open for Applications

Building Resilient Economies Programme in the UK

Iberdrola launches 2020 Social Program to support Vulnerable Groups in Spain

U.S. Embassy South Africa seeking Applications for 2019-20 Travel Logistics Support

U.S. Department of State, Bureau of OES announces “International Shared Waters Cooperation” Program

European Data Incubator Open Call 2 for Startups

Call for Strengthening Investigative Journalism in the Sahel

Grant Program on Food and Nutrition Security in Bangladesh

WFP Innovation Accelerator Programme for High-potential Solutions to Hunger Worldwide

Wehubit launches Call for Proposals on eHealth

British Council’s HELINKS Travel Grant Program for UK and Argentina

U.S. Embassy in Denmark inviting Partnership for Change Grant Program

Fourth Edition of the Italian Innovation Day is now open for Applications

A Chance for Global Young Leaders to Receive up to USD $5,000 for advancing SDGs

British Council’s Grant Scheme for Capacity Building on Social Enterprise in Higher Educational Institutions- Ethiopia

Youth Service America (YSA) inviting Applications for 2019-2020 Lead Agency Grants Program in United States

2019 Human Rights Defenders of the Year Award for Kenya

Sport Access Foundation Grants for Children and Young People with a Disability

U.S. Embassy in Uruguay announces Cultural and Educational Grants Program

Cultural Export Fund (CEF) Travel Grants Program in Malta

Rising Tide Foundation (RTF) launches Empowering for Freedom