Call for Entries: 2017 UNESCO Asia-Pacific Awards for Cultural Heritage Conservation

Deadline: 30 June 2017

Entries are open for 2017 UNESCO Asia-Pacific Awards for Cultural Heritage Conservation. The Awards recognize the efforts of private individuals and organizations that have successfully restored or conserved structures, places and properties of heritage value in the region.

The Awards emphasize the importance of the conservation process, including the technical achievements and quality of the restoration, as well as its social impact, including community involvement in the project.

Award Categories

Winners will be announced in early December 2017 in the following categories: “Award of Excellence”, “Award of Distinction”, “Award of Merit”, “Honourable Mention” and “Award for New Design in Heritage Contexts”.

Eligibility Criteria

The Awards for Cultural Heritage Conservation

  • The Awards for Cultural Heritage Conservation recognize the achievement of the private sector and public-private initiatives in successfully conserving or restoring structures, places and properties of heritage value in the region.
  • To be considered for the Awards, the conserved or restored heritage structure, property, settlement, landscape or its essential historic elements must be over 50 years old.
  • The following are eligible for consideration: residential, commercial and institutional buildings; religious properties; urban and rural settlements/historic towns and villages; archaeological heritage; cultural landscapes, parks and gardens; military properties; modern heritage; agricultural, industrial and technological properties; burial monuments and sites; cultural routes; vernacular architecture; and symbolic properties and memorials.
  • The project must be the result of private sector initiative or public-private partnership. The involvement of private individuals or organizations in terms of ownership, tenancy, financing or other contributions to the project should be clear. Projects which are financed, owned and undertaken wholly by government entities are not eligible.
  • The work must have been completed within the preceding 10 years at the time of submission. For buildings with a new use, the project must also have been occupied or put to viable use for at least one year at the time of submission.

The Award for New Design in Heritage Contexts

  • The Award for New Design in Heritage Contexts recognizes newly-built structures which demonstrate outstanding architectural design that is well-integrated into historic contexts.
  • The eligible projects should have been undertaken within the framework of a larger conservation project or should be located within or adjacent to a historic area whose essential elements are more than 50 years old.
  • Building annexes, new extensions, new buildings, new public spaces and new structures such as bridges are all eligible for consideration.
  • To be considered for the Award for New Design in Heritage Contexts, the work must have been completed within the preceding 10 years at the time of submission. The project must also have been occupied or put to viable use for at least one year.
  • The submission must demonstrate that no structures of heritage significance were altered or cleared from the site for the purpose of the project submitted for the Award for New Design in Heritage Contexts. Projects that are new structures built as historic replicas, built against historic facades and historic theme parks will not be considered.
  • Projects that are submitted for consideration to the conservation category of the UNESCO Heritage Awards in the same year are not eligible for submission for the Award for New Design in Heritage Contexts. Projects which are jointly submitted will be disqualified.

How to Apply

Entries for the 2017 Awards programme must be submitted to UNESCO Bangkok by using an official entry form, a description of the project in the official format available on the given website.

Eligible Countries

Afghanistan, Australia, Bangladesh, Bhutan, Brunei Darussalam, Cambodia, China, Cook Islands, Democratic People’s Republic of Korea, Fiji, India, Indonesia, Islamic Republic of Iran, Japan, Kiribati, Kazakhstan, Lao People’s Democratic Republic, Macao, China, Malaysia, Maldives, Marshall Islands, Micronesia (Federated States of), Myanmar, Nauru, Nepal, New Zealand, Niue, Pakistan, Palau, Papua New Guinea, Philippines, Republic of Korea, Samoa, Singapore, Solomon Islands, Sri Lanka, Tajikistan, Thailand, Timor Leste, Tokelau, Tonga, Turkmenistan, Tuvalu, Uzbekistan, Vanuatu, Vietnam

For more information, please visit UNESCO Asia-Pacific Awards.

Latest Funds for NGOs

Roberto Cimetta Fund: TAMTEEN Support Programme

Foundation for the Third Millennium: Promoting Health, Social Justice and Economic Independence

Submit Applications for IC-Impact’s Innovative Technology Demonstration Initiative!

British Embassy Lima: Seeking Innovative Project Ideas to Support Clean Energy and Green Growth

ACSS Call for Proposals: Inviting Applicants for Research Grants Program

U.S. Embassy in Cambodia: Promoting Mutual Understanding between the United States and Cambodia!

Applications Open for Planning Grants under Sida/Demo Environment Programme

Sida/Demo Environment Programme: Seeking Applications for Demonstration Grants

DHHS-CDC: Supporting Ethiopia’s Federal Ministry of Health and Regional Health Bureaus in HIV AIDS Programming

Australian Embassy in China: Seeking Applications for Direct Aid Program

The Governor’s Office of Student Achievement, Georgia: Seeking Applications for Innovation Fund Grant

Community Environment Fund: Empowering New Zealanders to make a Positive Difference to the Environment

Royal Norwegian Embassy in Belgrade: Sub-granting Programme for Civil Society

The Waterloo Foundation: Inviting Applicants for Environment’s Tropical Rainforests Programme

The Waterloo Foundation: Seeking Applications for Environment’s Marine Programme

Australian High Commission in New Delhi: Direct Aid Program to Strengthen Communities in India and Bhutan

USAID/Zimbabwe, BAA: Addressing Zimbabwe’s Development Challenges

African World Heritage Fund: Seeking Proposals for Conservation Grants

Apply for Youth LEAD Technical Assistance Fund 2017!

Elephant Family Grant 2018: Protecting Asian Elephants and Their Habitat

FP 2020’s Rapid Response Mechanism Youth Outreach: Small Grants for Youth-Led & Youth-Focused Organizations

ASEF Cultural Mobility Initiative 2017: Mobility First!

PEMSEA Youth Grant Competition 2017: Enabling Young Leaders

HEAD Foundation’s Request for Proposals: Contributing to Human Capital & Education for Asian Development

* indicates required

You have Successfully Subscribed!