Paul Hodges Trust: Grants for Women’s Empowerment – Breaking the Cycle of Poverty

Deadline: 30 April 2018

The Paul Hodges Trust is seeking applications to award grants to projects that tackle poverty through advancing women’s empowerment.

Activities that empower women and adolescent girls – allowing them to have voice, choice and control over their lives and giving them the chance to thrive – provide a vital opportunity to break the cycle of poverty.

The Trustees are looking to fund projects that work with poor communities to do one or more of the following:

  • Challenge and change negative attitudes and discriminatory practices that hold women and adolescent girls back
  • Provide access to sexual and reproductive health and rights
  • Support women and/or adolescent girls’ education
  • Promote women’s economic empowerment
  • Promote women’s political empowerment
  • Tackle violence against women and girls

Funding Information

The Paul Hodges Trust awards up to 2 grants a year of max £15,000 each.

Geographic Area

In 2018, Trustees will favor projects in Ghana, Uganda, Senegal, Madagascar, Zambia, Tanzania, Sierra Leone and Ethiopia, although other low income Sub-Saharan countries may be considered. Projects must be focused on poor or marginalised communities within those countries.

Eligible Organisations

  • The Paul Hodges Trust accepts applications from small charities with a proven track record of undertaking effective poverty reduction activities in Africa.
  • Larger or national charities will normally not be considered. The Trust place an important emphasis on supporting established small organisations with evidence of local ownership and effective governance/financial management processes, to ensure the safeguarding of Trust funds.


The Paul Hodges Trust does not give grants for:

  • Individuals in need;
  • General fund-raising appeals;
  • Capital works;
  • Retrospective funding for a project or event;

How to Apply

Applicants can download the application form via given website.

For more information, please visit Paul Hodges Trust.

DHHS: Disability and Rehabilitation Research Projects (DRRP) Program

USAID/Burma: Agriculture and Food-Systems Development Activity

U.S. Mission to Bosnia and Herzegovina announces Homestay Small Grants Program

Call for Proposals: 2019 Open Society Initiative for Southern Africa Program

U.S. Department of Justice, NIJ: Research and Evaluation on Drugs and Crime 2019

HEVA’s Growth Fund to Provide Growth Capital to Medium Sized Creative Businesses in Kenya

U.S. Department of Justice: Seeking Applications for Adult Drug Court Discretionary Grant Program

EU Call for Proposals: Support for the Development Work of Civil Society Organizations in Cuba

Samuel H. Kress Foundation: Accepting Applications for History of Art Grants Program

Cities Alliance Innovation Programme: Secure Tenure in African Cities- Micro Funds

Kress Foundation’s Conservation Grants to Support the Professional Practice of Art Conservation

Applications Open for USAID/Kyrgyz Republic Tuberculosis (TB) Control Program!

U.S. Department of State, Bureau of DRL: IRF Addressing Societal Constraints on Religious Freedom in Pakistan

U.S. Embassy in Cote d’Ivoire: 2019 Julia Taft Refugee Fund

U.S. Embassy in Mauritania: Annual Program Statement

USAID-Maputo: Media Strengthening Follow-On Program

U.S. Department of Justice, Bureau of Justice Assistance: Innovative Prosecution Solutions for Combatting Violent Crime

Apply for 2019 Pacific Development and Conservation Trust’s Grant Program

National Institute of Justice: Research and Evaluation on Terrorism Prevention Grant Program

EU-Lebanon Call for Proposals: EIDHR Support for Local Civil Society Action through Country-Based Support Schemes

National Institute of Justice: Research and Evaluation on Violence Against Women

U.S. Department of State, Bureau of DRL: IRF Journalist Training on Religious Freedom

Apply for New England Biolabs Foundation’s Grant Program 2019

U.S. Department of State, Bureau of PRM: NGO Programs Benefiting Refugees in Rwanda, Tanzania, and Uganda