Department of State, Bureau of ECA: Global Undergraduate Exchange Program

Deadline: 5 September 2017

The Office of Academic Exchange Programs of the Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs announces an open competition for the administration of the FY 2018 Global Undergraduate Exchange Program (Global UGRAD) that is designed to promote mutual understanding by awarding outstanding, underserved undergraduate students from East Asia and the Pacific, Europe and Eurasia, the Near East, South and Central Asia, Sub-Saharan Africa, and the Western Hemisphere full scholarships for one semester of non-degree undergraduate study at accredited four-year institutions of higher education in the United States.

Funding Information

The total amount of funding for this award will be up to $5,600,000.

Eligibility Criteria

  • Applications may be submitted by U.S. public and private non-profit organizations meeting the provisions described in Internal Revenue Code section 26 USC 501(c)(3).
  • Bureau grant guidelines require that organizations with less than four years of experience in conducting international exchanges be limited to $130,000 in Bureau funding. ECA anticipates making one award, in an amount $5,600,000 to support program and administrative costs required to implement this exchange program.
  • Therefore, organizations with less than four years experience in conducting international exchanges are ineligible to apply under this competition.

How to Apply

Applications must be submitted online via given website.

Eligible Countries:

East Asia and Pacific Countries: China, Japan, South Korea, North Korea, Taiwan, Mongolia, Australia, Bangladesh, Bhutan, Brunei, Burma (Myanmar), Cambodia, Canada, China, Chile, Cook Islands, Fiji, French Polynesia, India, Indonesia, Japan, Kiribati, Laos, Malaysia Maldives, Marshall Islands, Micronesia, Mongolia, Nauru, Nepal, New Zealand, New Caledonia, Niue, North Korea, Pakistan, Palau, Papua New Guinea, Peru, Philippines, Russia, Samoa, Singapore, Solomon Islands, South Korea, Sri Lanka, Thailand, Timor-Leste, Tonga, Tuvalu, Vanuatu, Vietnam, United States

Europe Countries: Albania, Andorra, Armenia, Austria, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Georgia, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Kazakhstan, Kosovo, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Macedonia, Malta, Moldova, Monaco, Montenegro, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Russia, San Marino, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, Ukraine, United Kingdom (UK), Vatican City (Holy See).

Eurasia Countries: China,India, Indonesia, Pakistan, Bangladesh, Russia, Japan, Philippines, Vietnam, Germany, Iran, Turkey, Thailand, United Kingdom, France, Italy, Myanmar, South korea, Spain, Ukraine, Poland, Iraq, Saudi Arabia, Uzbekistan, Malaysia, Nepal, Afghanistan, Yemen, North Korea, Taiwan, Syria, Sri Lanka, Romania, Kazakhstan, Netherlands, Cambodia, Belgium, Greece, Czech Republic, Portugal, Hungary, Sweden, Azerbaijan, Belarus, United Arab Emirates, Austria, Tajikistan, Israel, Switzerland, Hong Kong,(China), Bulgaria, Serbia, Jordan, Laos, Kyrgyzstan, Denmark, Singapore, Finland, Slovakia, Norway, Turkmenistan, Palestine, Ireland, Lebanon, Croatia, Oman, Kuwait, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Georgia, Moldova, Mongolia, Armenia, Lithuania, Albania, Qatar, Macedonia, Slovenia, Latvia, Kosovo, Bahrain, Estonia, Timor-Leste, Cyprus, Bhutan, Macau(China), Montenegro, Luxembourg, Malta, Brunei, Maldives, Iceland, Jersey, Isle of Man, Andorra, Guernsey, Faroe Islands(Denmark), Monaco, Liechtenstein, Gibraltar, San Marino, Åland Islands(Finland), Svalbard and Jan Mayen (Norway), Vatican City

East Asia Countries: China, Japan, South Korea, North Korea, Taiwan, Mongolia

South Asia Countries: Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Bhutan, India, Maldives, Nepal, Pakistan and Sri Lanka.

Central Asia Countries: Kazakhstan,Uzbekistan,Kyrgyzstan, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan

Sub-Saharan Africa Countries: Angola, Burundi, Cape Verde, Central African Republic, Chad,Comoros, Djibouti, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Gabon, Gambia,Guinea-Bissau, Liberia, Mali, Mauritania, Sao Tome and Principe, the Seychelles, Somalia, South Sudan, Sudan or Zimbabwe.

Western Hemisphere Countries: Algeria, Burkina Faso, Cape Verde, Cook Islands, Faroe Islands (Denmark), France (Metropolitan), French Polynesia, Wallis and Futuna, Gambia, Ghana, Greenland (Denmark), Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Iceland, Ireland, Ivory Coast, Kiribati, Liberia, Mali, Mauritania, Morocco, Western Sahara, Niue, Portugal, Russia, Samoa, Senegal, Sierra Leone, Spain, Togo, Tokelau, (New Zealand) Tonga, United Kingdom, Gibraltar, Guernsey, Isle of Man, Jersey, Pitcairn Islands, Saint Helena, Ascension and Tristan da Cunha, Falkland Islands, United States

For more information, please visit Global Undergraduate Exchange Program.

Burning Man: Seeking Applications for Global Art Grant

CFSI Call for Proposals: Promotion of Family Farming in West Africa Program 2018

U.S. Embassy in Georgia: Democracy Outreach/Alumni Program

Submit Proposals for New Zealand Law Foundation Grants!

European Commission Call for Proposals: Policy Project “Cultural and Creative Spaces and Cities”

U.S. Embassy in Albania: Ambassadors Fund for Cultural Preservation (AFCP) 2018

GEF Small Grants Program: Seeking Project Proposals from NGOs and CSOs

U.S. Embassy in Turkey: Seeking Applications for AFCP Large Grants Competition 2018

DHHS/NIH: NCI Small Grants Program for Cancer Research

U.S. Department of State, Bureau of DRL: Religious Freedom Programing in Sri Lanka

U.S. Embassy in Turkey: Seeking Applications for AFCP Small Grants Competition 2018

U.S. Embassy in Slovakia: Inviting Applicants for Small Grants Program

Applications Open for Advancing Young Women Professional Fellows Program!

U.S. Embassy in Montenegro: 2018 Ambassadors Fund for Cultural Preservation Large Grants Program

U.S. Embassy in Montenegro: 2018 Ambassadors Fund for Cultural Preservation (AFCP) Small Grants Program

PCI Call for Proposals: Supporting Conservation Programs for Wild Populations of Primates

British Council in Ukraine: 2017 Call for Proposals for Culture Bridges

Woodroffe Benton Foundation Grants: Supporting Charitable Organizations in UK

RAI2E Grant Program: Inviting Proposals from Government and Non-government Organizations

DHHS/NIH: Seeking Applications for Tobacco Regulatory Science Program

EU Call for Proposals: Supporting Civil Society Dialogue between EU and Turkey Grant Scheme (CSD-V)

EU Call for Proposals: Cross-border Programme for Serbia & Montenegro

UNOPS/GDF Call for Proposals: TB Diagnostics Market Landscape Analyses Program

U.S. Mission to Nigeria: U.S. Ambassadors Fund for Cultural Preservation – Large Grants Competition