Vodacom Journalists of the Year 2016: Seeking Applications from South African Journalists

Deadline: 4 August 2016

Vodacom is currently seeking applications from South African journalists for its “Journalists of the year 2016” competition that seeks to recognize and reward distinction among South African journalists for their relentless curiosity, accuracy in sharing information with the aim of getting society to think, initiate action and create awareness of topical issues and matters of interest.

Searching for Project Ideas?
Join Premium and View Hundreds of Sample Proposals from Successful NGOs around the world. Learn more.

The Vodacom Journalist of the Year Awards has grown in stature and has become the much sought after career acknowledgement for journalists today with attractive prizes as well.

Prize Information

Search Grants Easily
Premium Members can search for grants and donors. We have a filtered search feature to identify exact opportunities you need. Learn more.
  • The competition evaluates the media entries for top talent throughout South Africa, where there are regional awards which then culminate in a national event.
  • Regional winners in all categories will win R5 000 then move on to compete in the National Awards in November.
  • National winners in each category receive R10 000 and the overall national winner of the Vodacom Journalist of the Year will win a handsome prize of R100 000.


  • Media Categories
    • Television news
    • Television feature
    • Radio news
    • Radio feature
    • Print news
    • Print feature
    • Online
    • Photography
  • Specialist Categories
    • Financial/Economic
    • CSI/Sustainability
    • Sport
    • Young Journalist

Selection Criteria

Receive Funding Alerts by Country or Your Areas of Work
As a Premium Member, you can select to receive the right funding alerts according to your country or areas of work. Join Premium
  • There is no fee to enter the awards. Any entry not fulfilling the criteria stated herein may be disqualified.
  • All material must have been published or broadcast between 1 May 2015 and 30 May 2016.
  • Proof of publication or broadcast date must be supplied.
  • The content of entries must predominantly cover South African issues. Entries must be produced as well as published/broadcast in South Africa.
  • It is the entrant’s responsibility to ensure entries are legible, audible and/or viewable.
  • A maximum of three entries per category will be accepted from one individual.
  • An entry must be submitted for only one category.
  • Those entering the Young Journalist category must enter as individuals and must have worked in any newsroom for three years or less. They must submit a portfolio of work (maximum three pieces from within the competition period) together with a strong motivation and a CV. They may not enter any other VJOY categories in the same year. Regional winners will receive a certificate and become finalists for the national Young Journalist Award.
  • The judges reserve the right to move any submission to another category should it be deemed appropriate.
  • All journalists and editors wishing to submit entries must register on the Vodacom Journalist of the Year website before submitting their entry.
  • An entry with multiple contributors may be submitted (except for Young Journalist) only if the name of each contributing journalist and/or producer appears on the by-line of the piece entered.
  • Submissions must be entered in the Vodacom region where published or broadcast.
  • Entrants must submit background information and a motivation to the judges as to why they believe the submitted material deserves to win – this is essential for all entries.
  • Every entry in each category is eligible for the Regional Awards, provided it complies with all requirements in this list of criteria.
  • All Regional Award winners (including the Young Journalist category) will automatically become finalists for the National Award in that category. Winners of National Awards (except Young Journalist category) will automatically become finalists for the overall Journalist of the Year Award.

How to Apply

Interested applicants can submit their application:

  • Electronically online
  • By physically dropping off hard copies at one of the five Vodacom regional offices.
  • By free courier service through Internet Express, in conjunction with Internet Express, its online courier partner.

Eligible Country: South Africa

For more information, please visit Vodacom Journalists of the Year.

Jetstar’s Flying Start Program’s Grant #22 for Australian Not-for-Profit Community Groups and Organisations

African Fact-checking Awards 2019 Honoring Journalism by Africa-Based Media

Weeden Foundation Grants Program to Protect Biodiversity

The Chrysalis Trust Grants Program is now open for Applications

Building Resilient Economies Programme in the UK

Iberdrola launches 2020 Social Program to support Vulnerable Groups in Spain

U.S. Embassy South Africa seeking Applications for 2019-20 Travel Logistics Support

U.S. Department of State, Bureau of OES announces “International Shared Waters Cooperation” Program

European Data Incubator Open Call 2 for Startups

Call for Strengthening Investigative Journalism in the Sahel

Grant Program on Food and Nutrition Security in Bangladesh

WFP Innovation Accelerator Programme for High-potential Solutions to Hunger Worldwide

Wehubit launches Call for Proposals on eHealth

British Council’s HELINKS Travel Grant Program for UK and Argentina

U.S. Embassy in Denmark inviting Partnership for Change Grant Program

Fourth Edition of the Italian Innovation Day is now open for Applications

A Chance for Global Young Leaders to Receive up to USD $5,000 for advancing SDGs

British Council’s Grant Scheme for Capacity Building on Social Enterprise in Higher Educational Institutions- Ethiopia

Youth Service America (YSA) inviting Applications for 2019-2020 Lead Agency Grants Program in United States

2019 Human Rights Defenders of the Year Award for Kenya

Sport Access Foundation Grants for Children and Young People with a Disability

U.S. Embassy in Uruguay announces Cultural and Educational Grants Program

Cultural Export Fund (CEF) Travel Grants Program in Malta

Rising Tide Foundation (RTF) launches Empowering for Freedom